The Hundred – 100-ball Cricket League 2020

The Hundred T20 League 2020

The ECB has launched their T20 tournament in the UK in 2020 but unlike the Vitality T20 Blast, this new T20, city-based cricket English tournament will not be based on the county circuit. The tournament will be played from July 2020 and will last over 38 days, hence going into August 2020.

Each of the innings of The Hundred cricket competition will be 100 balls long, with bowlers allowed to bowl five or 10 consecutive balls. One of the reasons for this so-called new format of the competition is to distinguish itself from the Vitality T20 Blast, formerly known as the NatWest T20 Blast, which will still run in conjunction with the 100-ball format tournament.

The Hundred T20 Teams Squads

The new T20 tournament that the ECB has proposed will be based on the lines of the Indian Premier League and the Big Bash League with a total of eight teams in action. These city-based T20 teams will cover regions in the country rather than the counties as has been the case in the NatWest T20 Blast and they will have names on the lines of how T20 tournaments around the world have – catchy. The eight The Hundred team names are as follows;

Birmingham Phoenix

Men’s Squad: Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Pat Brown, Wessels (wk), Williamson (captain), Livingstone, Bopara, Howell, Afridi, Helm, Zampa.
Bench: Hose, Delport, Brookes, Cooke.
Coach: Andrew McDonald
Women’s Squad: Amy Jones, Kirstie Gordon. Coach: Ben Sawyer

London Spirit

Men’s Squad: Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence, Eoin Morgan (captain), Denly, Maxwell, Nabi, Rossington (wk), van der Merwe, Amir, Dernbach, Wood, Crane.
Bench: Abbott, Burns, Crawley, Reece.
Coach: Shane Warne
Women’s Squad: Heather Knight, Freya Davies. Coach: Lisa Keightley

Manchester Originals

Men’s Squad: Jos Buttler, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Salt, Madsen, Abell, Vilas (c), Christian, Santner, Parnell, Tahir.
Bench: Clarke, De Lange, Pollock, Byrom.
Coach: Simon Katich
Women’s Squad: Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone

Northern Superchargers

Men’s Squad: Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Finch (c), Lyth, Lynn, Wiese, Foakes (wk), Gleeson, Rimmington, Mujeeb.
Bench: Kohler-Cadmore, Carse, Barnard, Simpson (wk).
Coach: Darren Lehmann
Women’s Squad: Lauren Winfield, Linsey Smith. Coach: Danielle Hazell

Oval Invincibles

Men’s Squad: Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jason Roy, Narine, Roussouw, Billings, Blake, Allen, Viljoen, Lamichhane, Topley.
Bench: Jacks, Wood, Sowter, Evans.
Coach: Tom Moody
Women’s Squad: Laura Marsh, Fran Wilson. Coach: Lydia Greenway

Southern Brave

Men’s Squad: Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Warner (c), Pope (wk), Rawlins, Russell, Whiteley, Dawson, Shadab Khan, Mills.
Bench: Garton, Davies (wk), Waller, Overton.
Coach: Mahela Jayawardene
Women’s Squad: Anya Shrubsole, Danni Wyatt. Coach: Charlotte Edwards

Trent Rockets

Men’s Squad: Joe Root (captain), Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Short, Malan, Moores (wk), Mullaney, Gregory, Khan, Coulter-Nile, Carter.
Bench: Moores, Cox (wk), Fletcher, Wright.
Coach: Stephen Fleming
Women’s Squad: Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt. Coach: Salliann Briggs

Welsh Fire

Men’s Squad: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Colin Ingram, Duckett, Smith, Ten Doeschate, Plunkett, Harmer, Starc, Rampaul, Ahmad.
Bench: Payne, Higgins, Briggs, Du Plooy.
Coach: Gary Kirsten
Women’s Squad: Katie George, Bryony Smith. Coach: Matthew Mott

What’s known so far is that the players will be selected in a Draft-like format instead of the Auction as is used in the Indian Premier League. The Draft is used in the Pakistan Super League and the Caribbean Premier League. The Hundred Draft will be held on Sunday, October 20, and the likes of Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and David Warner will all be a part of the Draft.

They will play their respective home matches at Old Trafford in Manchester, Headingley in Leeds, Edgbaston in Birmingham, Trent Bridge in Nottingham, Sophia Gardens in Cardiff, Lord’s and The Oval in London and the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

The Hundred Fixtures

A total of 36 matches over 38 days is being planned. Weekends with no Test cricket being played are being targeted so that two matches a day can take place on such dates to capitalise on the TV audience and build a following for the new league.


Each of the sides will play eight games, i.e. four at home and four away. This means every team will play six of the seven other teams once and the seventh side on two separate occasions. These will be followed by four playoff matches including the final.

The match format will be on the lines of T20 cricket but instead of 20-overs-a-side, the competition will be played over 100 balls. There are minor changes to the game format. Here’s more:

  • Each side will be able to bat for a maximum of 100 balls
  • Bowling ends will change every 10 balls
  • Bowlers will be allowed to bowl five or 10 balls in a row
  • No bowler will be allowed to bowl more than 20 balls in an innings
  • IPL-like strategic timeouts of up to 2.5 minutes
  • Powerplay will be 25 balls long for each team

How to watch The Hundred tournament live?

Sky Sport is the official broadcasters of this new English t20 competition, The Hundred, and will broadcast all the 38 matches. However, 10 of the men’s matches will also be telecast on BBC and the online streaming options will be revealed soon too. Also, the tournament will be broadcast to the other parts of the world live.

1 comment… add one
  • Abdul qudoos Jan 5, 2020, 9:07 am

    Insha Allah will win the PSL final of Peshawar Zalmay 2020 and Javed Afridi will work hard and with zeal and zeal for Pakistan. Stop the 7 Persecution and persecution because the Pashtuns have sacrificed their lives for this country.

Leave a Comment