PCB Awards 2018 Winners

PCB Awards 2018 to be held in Karachi on 8th August 2018

PCB Awards 2018 Winners

The PCB Cricket Awards for 2018 was held on 8th August 2018. It was one to watch out as the top Pakistani cricketers came together at a glittering ceremony. The winners of this year’s PCB Awards are placed below.

Fakhar Zaman was awarded the a special prize for Outstanding Performance after becoming the fastest to complete 1000 ODI runs in the history of that format. Other than that, captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the Imtiaz Ahmed Spirit Award while Muhammad Abbas‘ 27 wickets won him the Best Test Player award.

Fellow fast bowler Hasan Ali scooped the Best ODI Player award while Babar Azam was also given the Best T20I Player prize. All-rounder Faheem Ashraf was declared the Best Emerging Player while Shan Masood’s domestic performances won him the best batsman in the domestic circuit award. Aizaz Cheema was given the best bowler in domestic cricket.

Former captain Sana Mir was awarded the Best ODI Player in women’s cricket while all-rounder Javeria Khan was awarded the Best T20I Player, along with Diana Baig, who won the Best Emerging Player and Best Bowler award in domestic cricket.

PCB Awards 2018 Results

  1. Imtiaz Ahmed Spirit of Cricket Award: Sarfraz Ahmed (awarded (Rs. 1 million)
  2. Special Award for Outstanding Performance: Fakhar Zaman Rs 2.5 million)
  3. Best Test Player of the Year (Men): Mohammad Abbas (27 Wickets) (Rs. 0.6 million)
  4. Best ODI Player of the Year (Men): Hasan Ali, Bowler (33 Wickets) (Rs. 0.6 million)
  5. Best ODI Player (Women): Sana Mir (259 runs & 21 wickets) (Rs. 0.6 million)
  6. Best T20 Player of the Year (Men): Babar Azam, Batsman (489 Runs) (Rs. 0.6 million)
  7. Best T20 Player (Women): Javeria Khan, Batswoman (173 Runs) (Rs. 0.6 million)
  8. Emerging Player (Men): Faheem Ashraf (Rs. 0.6 million)
  9. Emerging Player (Women): Diana Baig (Rs. 0.6 million)
  10. Best Batsman Domestic (Men): Shan Masood (1857 Runs) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  11. Best Batswoman Domestic (Women): Javeria Khan (356 Runs) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  12. Best Bowler Domestic (Men): Aizaz Cheema (78 Wickets) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  13. Best Bowler Domestic (Women): Diana Baig (18 Wickets) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  14. Best Wicket Keeper Domestic (Men): Kamran Akmal (54 Victims) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  15. Best Wicket Keeper (Women): Sidra Nawaz (27 Victims) (Rs. 0.5 million)
  16. Best Player of the Year (Blind): Amir Ishfaq (Rs. 0.5 million)
  17. Best Player of the Year (Deaf & Dumb): Muhammad Naveed Qamar (Rs. 0.5 million)
  18. Best Player of the Year (Disable): Nihaar Alam (Rs. 0.5 million)
  19. Best Umpire of the Year: Muhammad Asif Yaqoob (Rs. 0.3 million)
  20. Best Coach of Year: Sajjad Akber, LRCA (Rs. 0.3 million)
  21. Best Referee of the Year: Mohammad Anees, Lahore (Rs. 0.3 million)
  22. Best Scorer of the Year: Azhar Hussain-Lahore (Rs. 0.2 million)
  23. Best Curator of the Year: Riaz Ahmed, Rawalpindi Stadium (Rs. 0.2 million)

PCB Chairman Najam Sethi will be at the forefront of these awards which will be attended by Pakistani national and domestic cricketers including the Pakistani cricketers who have taken pat in the Pakistan Super League. Shoaib Malik will be absent from the function though, having flown to the Windies to feature in the Caribbean Premier League that will begin from tonight as well.

In a tweet, Malik said, “I am going to miss the PCB Awards in person but I’ll be there in spirit of course. Playing for your nation is an honor on its own and this award ceremony is an excellent initiative to recognize and appreciate the hard work cricketers put in day-in day-out.”

The rest of the cricketers are all going to be present though, including Pakistan fast bowler Hasan Ali who posted a photo of his own self with a few of the other cricketers, noting he had landed safely in Karachi.

The PCB Awards will be jointly hosted by Imran Ahmad Khan. Among some of the favourites to win the PCB awards are Fakhar Zaman, who could be named the Best Batsman along with the Cricketer of the Year while Hassan Ali could scoop the Best Bowler of the Year prize.

As far as the all-rounder of the year is concerned, both Shadab Khan and Fahim Ashraf have done brilliantly over the past 12 months while Imamul Haq, who is selector Inzamamul Haq’s nephew could win the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment