Mzansi Super League Schedule, Team Squads & Live Streaming

Mzansi Super League – CSA’s new T20 league

Mzansi Super League 2018 ScheduleAfter months of discussions and postponement, the Cricket South Africa has decided the first ever edition of the new South African T20 League – which was supposed to be called the Global T20 League before it was scrapped – will have six teams instead of eight. This new South African T20 tournament named, Mzansi Super League (MSL T20) will be played from November 16 to December 16 and more information on where these teams will be based out of will be put up on the 15th of October when the player draft will be held.

Known as the Global League T20 last year, it was cancelled after being unable to garner the support of a TV broadcaster and ended up costing the board a lot of money. The South African cricket board has now done everything possible to get a new tournament going. And one of the reasons why the tournament is called Mzansi is because the board wanted it sound very South African in nature.

MSL T20 Player Draft

The main player draft will be held on Wednesday, October 17 in South Africa. There was be a mini-Draft before the main draft that will allow the six teams to select the overseas Marquee players. The 2018 MSL player draft will be streamed live at 10h00 CAT on the official Mzansi Super League Facebook page.

Player Draft Rules

  • The Draft begins at 10 am local time.
  • 330 players in the MSL draft: 55 openers, 86 middle-order batsmen, 67 all-rounders, 84 fast bowlers & 38 spinners
  • Teams allocated R5325000 for a 16-man squad. Domestic and overseas marquee players will be picked first follow by 14 rounds of main draft.
  • Each squad would have 3 National Contracted players, 3 or 4 overseas player and at least 1 rookie player.
  • An overseas Player is any Foreign Player or Kolpak Player. A Rookie Player is a 21-year-old or younger South African cricketer, hasn’t played international cricket but is eligible to play for SA.
  • There will be “Strategic Planning Breaks” after every five rounds of the Player Draft. Teams will be allowed up to a minute for the first seven rounds, 90 seconds for the next seven rounds.
  • Trading of order or players won’t be allowed during the main draft.
  • Overseas and Kolpak players have opted for a reserve price during the draft for themselves which is the minimum price at which they can be sold.
  • The Draft Pick Order for the Mzansi Super League Draft is;
    • Durban Heat
    • Jozi Stars
    • Paarl Rocks
    • Cape Town Blitz
    • Tshwane Spartans
    • Nelson Mandela Bay Giants

Mzansi Super League Team Squads

Durban Heat – Hashim Amla
Jozi Stars – Kagiso Rabada
Tshwane Spartans – AB de Villiers
Neson Mandela Bay Giants – Imran Tahir
Cape Town Blitz – Quinton de Kock
Paarl Rocks – Faf du Plessis

Overseas Marquee Players

Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Rashid Khan, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan and Eoin Morgan.

How many matches will be played in this tournament?

According to the expected format, all these six teams will play off against each other twice in a round-robin format which will be followed by two playoffs to make it 32 matches..

The format will be similar to the Ram Slam T20 or the CSA T20 Challenge, but will only be played at the big grounds in the country including Wanderers in Johannesburg and Kingsmead in Durban.

Mzansi Super League Broadcast TV Channels & Live Stream

The board have signed up with SABC as the official broadcaster. SABC will release information on how this new tournament in SA can be watched on TV and streamed online soon.

The South African cricket board will own the majority share in the competition. They will also produce the tournament and sell it to TV channels around the world.

What’s interesting to note is that this new South African T20 Mzansi Super League will be played between November 16 and December 16, thereby coinciding with the T10 Cricket League. As a result players who have already been selected in the T10 League squads, might have difficulties in pulling out of that contract. South African players who will be featuring in the T10 League include the likes of Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Marchant de Lange, Cameron Delport, Morne Morkel, Hardus Viljoen and Roelof van der Merwe. Internationals like Chris Gayle, Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard, Jason Roy, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Darren Sammy and Andre Russell are all going to be featuring in the T10 league.

Some of the South African cricketers will also be absent as they feature in a ODI series against Australia which also clashes with some of the aforementioned dates.

More information on the MSL T20 squads, draft results, schedule, tickets, live streaming and TV options will be revealed on October 15.

7 comments… add one
  • Haider Oct 16, 2018, 1:24 pm

    I love cricket

  • Zaid Faf Oct 16, 2018, 12:23 pm

    I supported parral rocks

  • Rahul Sonkar Oct 16, 2018, 3:37 am

    India me Timming this match

  • APURBA Oct 15, 2018, 5:06 pm


  • Oct 7, 2018, 12:52 pm

    A b d you are cameg in psl

  • m.ali Sep 19, 2018, 7:50 am

    spiner kehl ni sakty kia leauge krvaye ge.

  • Ashraf ali Aug 18, 2018, 3:25 pm

    I Love you suth a

Leave a Comment