ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Team Squads

2019 ICC World Cup Teams

The 2019 World Cup will have 10 teams featuring in the competition that will be played in the UK and you can find all the World Cup squads for this tournament below.

A changed format has left the World Cup with just 10 sides this competition, dropping down from the 14 that were on display in the previous two World Cups. According to the World Cup schedule, these 10 teams will play each other once in a round-robin league format, making it 45 games during that phase. Two semi-finals and a final will follow the league stage.

Eight of these World Cup squads got a direct entry into the main competition while 10 other sides were involved in a Qualifier with two teams joining the others in the tournament.

According to previous World Cup editions, teams are expected to announce a 30-man probables squad a couple of months in advance and then select their final 15 from these 30 going into the World Cup. What this means is that around the 10 squads will be announced around March-April 2019. Interesting to note here that given the tournament will be slightly longer for all teams involved, there could be a chance that the ICC might allow squads to be 16-man strong.

What we can do here is to give you a probable set of players each of these 10 teams could go into the World Cup with. Please remember this is more than six months from the start of the 2019 World Cup, which means each of the 10 squads could see a chunk of changes before the actual start of the competition.

Sarfaraz Ahmed will lead the Pakistan squad for the 2019 World Cup while India’s squad for the tournament can be expected to be led by Virat Kohli. The Sri Lanka squad hasn’t got too much clarity given how often their captains have changed while Shakib al Hasan will hope the Bangladesh squad is well-captained.

In the recently-played Asia Cup, India had gone on to beat Bangladesh in the final while Pakistan struggled to get going, losing to India (twice) and Bangladesh in the second round to crash out of the tournament early.

The teams of qualifiers Afghanistan and West Indies shouldn’t have an issue in naming Asghar Stanikzai and Jason Holder respectively as their skippers while hosts England will take Eoin Morgan as the captain of their squad for their home World Cup.

Kane Williamson has captained the New Zealand team well in the lead-up to the tournament and there’s no need for a change there while South Africa‘s captaincy will be given to Faf du Plessis now that AB de Villiers has retired.

The only issue with the captaincy could be down to the Australian squad that will be without Steven Smith and David Warner till very nearly the start of the World Cup. Do Australia give Smith the responsibility of leading the Aussie team or will it be someone like an Aaron Finch or Tim Paine doing that? We will know soon enough closer to the start of the 2019 World Cup.

ICC World Cup 2019 Squads (Probable)

Pakistan Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Aamer Yamin, Rumman Raees

India Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammad Shami

Sri Lanka Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Angelo Mathews, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Jeevan Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Kusal Mendis

England Squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Mark Wood, Sam Billings, Jake Ball

Australia Squad: Tim Paine (captain), Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Michael Neser

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Tim Seifert, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Ajaz Patel, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Seth Rance

Windies Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jason Mohammed, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chadwick Walton, Shimron Hetmyer

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mohammad Saifuddin, Fazle Mahmud, Imrul Kayes

Afghanistan Squad: Asghar Afghan (captain), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Aftab Alam, Ihsanullah Janat, Sayed Shirzad, Dawlat Zadran, Wafadar

South Africa Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Jean-Paul Duminy, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

40 comments… add one
  • M Amir Nov 30, 2018, 2:32 pm

    Hey friends I am tired in series of nz inshallah I will pick the the wicket of R sharma good luck


  • Munna Nov 24, 2018, 2:41 am

    Bangladesh win the would cup 2019

  • avdhesh Nov 13, 2018, 10:30 am

    sabhi deso me india aage rahanga . INDIA won world cup . Chunoti
    Hain meri


  • Ramdas modi Nov 13, 2018, 9:59 am

    sabhi deso me india aage rahanga . INDIA won world cup . Chunoti
    Hain meri


  • Anonymous Nov 13, 2018, 9:58 am

    sabhi deso me india aage rahanga . INDIA won world cup . Chunoti
    Hain meri


  • Hassey Nov 4, 2018, 1:30 am

    INSHALLAH Pak win world 2019

  • Anonymous Nov 1, 2018, 5:41 am

    Sharjeel come back

Leave a Comment