ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule, Teams, Tickets & Venue

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019The 2019 World Cup will be played in the UK from May 30 and will have 10 teams fight it out for the top glory in the 50-over cricket world. And if you are looking at any kind of information on how to watch the cricket World Cup, news, tickets information, schedule, squads or even where you can stay during the World Cup, we have it all here.

This will be the first competition of the cricket World Cup in which 10 teams will play, having seen different number of teams feature at different times. Despite the obvious criticism of a reduced number of sides in the World Cup – the 2007 edition had 16, and the 2011 and 2015 editions had 14 apiece – the format for this World Cup is one that’s been used only once before. That happened in the 1992 World Cup.

This is a format that sees every team participating in the World Cup play every other side, to make it nine games for every team in a round-robin league. The top four teams at the end of that in the points table will make it to the World Cup semi-finals, which will be followed by the final.

Here’re the complete details of the 2019 World Cup. You can also click on the links to get more in-depth information on each category.

2019 Cricket World Cup Schedule Fixtures

As mentioned earlier, this is a 10-team competition with every side taking on every other team in a round-robin format. The World Cup begins on May 30 and will be played across 11 venues in the UK. England take on South Africa in the 2019 World Cup opener at the Oval in London before Windies face Pakistan in the second game that will be played in Nottingham.

Defending champions Australia will start their campaign with a game against Afghanistan on June 1 in Bristol while India will have a late start to the tournament when they play South Africa on June 5 Southampton.

There will be a total of 45 matches during the league phase of the competition and three in the knock-outs leading up to the final that will be played at Lord’s on July 14 in London.

Defending champions Australia, hosts England, previous finalists New Zealand and semi-finals India and South Africa and Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka made it directly to the tournament while Afghanistan and West Indies made it through to the competition via the Qualifiers. The full ICC Cricket World Cup fixtures can be found here.

World Cup Squads

All 10 teams, hosts England, defending champions Australia, runner-up New Zealand, 2011 winners and semi-finalist India and the other semi-finalists South Africa, along with Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Windies will name their squads for this World Cup about a month or two before the start of the tournament. Even before that, they will be asked to name their 30-man probable squad from which they will need to pick that final 15. Expect more on the Cricket World Cup 2019 teams by January 2019.

Cricket World Cup 2019 Tickets Sale and Prices

For those looking to travel to the UK or for those in the UK who are looking to watch the cricket World Cup live in the stadiums, this is the most important piece of information. The World Cup tickets for the 2019 edition of the cricket tournament will be released on May 8, 2018 and will be available through a lottery or a ballot, and there will be two or three rounds through which these tickets will be available. More information on how to buy the 2019 World Cup tickets and price can be found here.

World Cup Live on TV & Online

In case you aren’t willing to travel to the stadiums despite being a huge cricket buff, then watching the cricket World Cup live on TV or online is going to be of absolute vitality for you. What that means is based on which country or region you are from, different TV channels and different online streaming options can be used to watch the tournament live.

Star Sports is the official producer and broadcaster of the 2019 World Cup, and they will telecast the competition in India and the rest of the subcontinent. Live streaming of the World Cup in India can be watched on Hotstar. Rest of the information here and this will be updated as we get more and more on it.

World Cup Venues

There’re 12 venues that will host at least three games during the 2019 World Cup. These include Edgbaston in Birmingham, the Bristol County Ground in Bristol, Sophia Gardens in Cardiff, Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street, Headingley in Leeds, Lord’s and The Oval in London, Old Trafford in Manchester, Trent Bridge in Nottingham, Rose Bowl in Southampton and County Ground in Taunton. We will try and give you possible options on the hotels to stay at during the World Cup.

World Cup Predictions & Tips

What’s cricket without the odd bet! We will be looking to provide match by match World Cup tips and predictions but remember these are for fun purposes only and we hold no responsibility for any losses you might incur. That out of the way, we would also like to have some fun during the game with the odd rupee, dollar or quid bet on the games, so follow our journey during the World Cup.

Betting Odds for Title Win:

England: 3/1
Australia: 4/1
India: 5/1
South Africa: 6/1
New Zealand: 8/1
Pakistan: 12/1
West Indies: 25/1
Sri Lanka: 33/1
Bangladesh: 66/1
Afghanistan: 125/1

What Happened in Previous Cricket World Cups?

West Indies were the winners of the first two editions of the World Cup that were held in the UK, beating Australia and England in the final. They were about to make it three in a row when they bowled India out for 183 in the final of the 1983 competition, but they were dismissed for 140 and India were crowned the winners. Australia came into their own and won their first ever title – first of five in fact – when they defeated England in the 1987 World Cup final.

The 1992 World Cup was the first that was played under lights with coloured clothing and Pakistan came back from a hopeless situation to win the title, again beating England in the final. The next edition, played in 1996, was hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka and Australia made it to another final. Favourites to win it, Australia were taught a lesson by Arjuna Ranatunga’s Sri Lanka, but they came back in the next three World Cups to make it four title wins.

Australia beat Pakistan in the 1999 World Cup final, India in 2003 and Sri Lanka in 2007 to show their cricketing muscle to the world before India clinched their second title in 2011. They beat Sri Lanka in the final. The previous edition of the World Cup was played in 2015 and the two co-hosts, Australia and New Zealand clashed in the final with the former winning their fifth title.

Cricket World Cup Stats:

Highest Team Total
Australia v Afghanistan (2015): 417/6

Lowest Team Total
Canada v Sri Lanka (2003): 36 all out

Highest Match Total
Australia v Sri Lanka (2015): 688/18

Lowest Match Total
Canada v Sri Lanka (2003): 73/11

Highest Successful Chase
Ireland v England (2011): 329/7

Highest Win Percentage
Australia: 75.30%

Most Runs
Sachin Tendulkar: 2278

Highest Batting Average
AB de Villiers: 63.5

Most Wickets
Glenn McGrath: 71

Best Bowling Average
Glenn McGrath: 18.2

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment