BPL T20 2018-19 Team Squads Players List

The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is the premier domestic T20 cricket tournament in Bangladesh and this is the sixth edition of the competition that is scheduled to take place from January 5 2019. The tournament will see seven teams participate in it with the final to be played on February 8 2019.

The 2018-19 Bangladesh Premier League will see the participation by seven franchises as was the case last year as well. The names of the franchises are as follows: Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Barisal Bulls, Khulna Titans & Rajshahi Kings. The BPL Draft took on the October 28, 2018, with the teams going hammer and tongs at trying to get their best squad in place.

Bangladesh Premier League 2018 Teams & Squads

Teams BPL Teams Squad players list
Rangpur Riders Mashrafe Mortaza, AB de Villliers, Abul Hasan, Alex Hales, Benny Howell, Chris Gayle, Fardin Hossain, Farhad Reza, Mehedi Maruf, Mohammad Mithun, Nadif Chowdhury, Nahidul Islam, Nazmul Islam, Oshane Thomas, Ravi Bopara, Rilee Rossouw, Shafiul Islam, Sohag Gazi
Khulna Titans Mahmudullah, Al-Amin, Ali Khan, Ariful Haque, Brendan Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Dawid Malan, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Lasith Malinga, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shariful Islam, Sherfane Rutherford, Subashis Roy, Taijul Islam, Tanvir Islam Mahidul Islam Ankan, Yasir Shah, Zahir Khan, Paul Stirling, David Wiese
Dhaka Dynamites Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Andrew Birch, Asif Hasan, Hazratullah Zazai, Ian Bell, Kieron Pollard, Mizanur Rahman, Naim Sheikh, Nurul Hasan, Qazi Onik, Rony Talukdar, Rovman Powell, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Sunil Narine
Rajshahi Kings Mominul Haque, Alauddin Babu, Arafat Sunny, Christiaan Jonker, Fazle Mahmud, Isuru Udana, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Laurie Evans, Marshall Ayub, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Sami, Mustafizur Rahman, Qais Ahmed, Ryan ten Doeschate, Seekugge Prasanna, Soumya Sarkar, Zakir Hasan, Mohammad Hafeez
Sylhet Sixers David Warner (captain), Nasir Hossain, Afif Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, Alok Kapali, Andre Fletcher, Ebadat Hossain, Fabian Allen, Gulbadin Naib, Jaker Ali, Liton Das, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Mohammad Irfan, Nabil Samad, Nicholas Pooran, Pat Brown, Sabbir Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sohail Tanvir, Taskin Ahmed, Towhid Hridoy, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Nawaz
Comilla Victorians Steve Smith, Tamim Iqbal, Abu Hider, Amer Yamin, Anamul Haque, Asela Gunaratne, Evin Lewis, Imrul Kayes, Liam Dawson, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Shahid, Mosharraf Hossain, Sanjit Saha, Shahid Afridi, Shamsur Rahman, Shoaib Malik, Thisara Perera, Waqar Salmakhai, Ziaur Rahman
Chittagong Vikings Mushfiqur Rahim, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Jayed, Cameron Delport, Dasun Shanaka, Khaled Ahmed, Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammad Shahzad, Mosaddek Hossain, Najibullah Zadran, Nayeem Hasan, Nihaduzzaman, Robbie Frylinck, Robiul Haque, Shadman Islam, Sikandar Raza, Yasir Ali

The defending champions Rangpur Riders brought in Chris Gayle and Mashrafe Mortaza, two really strong T20 players in their own right despite their recent struggles. AB de Villiers also joined the Riders while Alex Hales and Ravi Bopara will add aggression and depth to their lineup. Among bowlers, Oshane Thomas is one to watch out.

The Dhaka Dynamites have Shakib al Hasan leading the team while Sunil Narine, Rovmon Powell, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell are all a part of the line-up that could blow any opponent away.

Nasir Hossain and Sabbir Rahman will take on the opposition for Sylhet Sixers but their biggest coup as far as their squad is concerned comes in the form of David Warner and Sandeep Lamichhane.

Khulna Titans have the ice-cool Mahmudullah leading their side but in Carlos Brathwaite, Dawid Malan and Brendan Taylor they also have a strongish middle to lower-middle order. If Andre Fletcher can give them a good start, it would be a team to take on the rest.

Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes will feature for Comilla Victorians, while all-rounders Shoaib Malik and Asela Gunaratne will come into the set-up in the middle-order. Evin Lewis’ batting prowess should help as well, while Shahid Afridi and Mehedi Hasan will add the bowling potency for them.

Rajshahi Kings added Qais Ahmed, Ryan ten Doeschate and Mustafizur Rahman but they could have done a lot better with their batting that has Mominul Haque and Soumya Sarkar in their line-up.

Mushfiqur Rahim leads the Chittagong Vikings while Sikandar Raza, Luke Ronchi, Cameron Delport and Dasun Shanaka are some of the top batsmen to feature for them.

Earlier, the news coming in from the BPL Draft was that there would be no icon players in this season of the Bangladesh Premier League. The icon players were replaced by a new category called the A+ category, to go with A, B, C, D and E. The seven A+ category players are as follows:

A+ Category Players:

Liton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza

There has also been an increase in the base price for the foreign players belonging to categories, with A+ category pegged at USD 200,000, followed by A, B, C, D and E at USD 150,000, 75,000, 50,000, 30,000 and 20,000 respectively.

Some of the top players participating in this edition of the Bangladesh Premier League include AB de Villiers who might turn up for the Rangpur Riders, winners of the previous edition of the competition.

Also signed up this season is David Warner, who is looking to get himself fully fit in time for the World Cup after his suspension is lifted and he will play for the Sylhet Sixers. The Sixers will also have the services of the Nepali spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, a bowler who has created havoc all around the world with his brilliant bowling.

Some of the others who will be a part of the tournament include Chris Gayle, Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik and Luke Ronchi. It will be interesting to see how many Pakistani players will be be in action this year. The complete BPL 2018 player list is placed above and will be updated at the end of the BPL Draft that will be held on October 25.

After the initial retained players, Rangpur Riders became the first team to sign on to a big-ticket player, bringing in the England opener Alex Hales for this season. The Riders have already retained Chris Gayle from the previous season, making the Gayle-Hales combination one to watch out.

Some of the other players retained by the BPL teams include Mashrafe Mortaza (Riders), Mahmudullah and Carlos Brathwaite (Khulna Titans), Shakib al Hasan, Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard (Dhaka Dynamites), Mominul Haque and Mustafizur Rahman (Rajshahi Kings), Sabbir Rahman (Sylhet Sixers), Tamim Iqbal and Shoaib Malik (Comilla Victorians) and Luke Ronchi (Chittagong Vikings).

In the fifth season of the Bangladesh Premier League that was held last year in 2017,  Rangpur Riders won the title by beating Dhaka Dynamites in the final. Interestingly, the Riders had finished at the fourth spot during the league stage of the competition but came back strongly to win three matches in a row to clinch the title.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment