Asia Cup 2020 Schedule & Team Squads

The 2020 Asia Cup will be the 15th edition of the tournament. Since the previous tournament was of the One Day International format, this tournament is going to be of the T20 format. Pakistan Cricket Board have been granted the rights to host the tournament in neutral locations. It is still unclear as to whether the matches will be played in Pakistan or in the UAE. The Asia Cup will be played in September, with six teams featuring in the tournament. Asia Cup schedule 2020 will be placed below.

As soon as the announcement was made by the Asian Cricket Council that Pakistan will be the hosts of the tournament, the BCCI put in a request to the Pakistan Cricket Board to alter the venues of the matches because of evident security concerns. Earlier in May this year, the Asian Cricket Council have confirmed that the tournament will indeed be played in Pakistan and following that decision, there is a doubt if the Indian team will participate in the tournament due to disturbed relations between the governments of the two nations.

“Pakistan told the delegates at the ACC meeting held in Singapore that they would host the Asia Cup at home but a final decision on the venue would be taken after consultation with other members of the ACC and keeping in mind the prevailing security and political situation around that time in Pakistan,” a PCB source said.

Pakistan hasn’t hosted too many international matches since 2009. The only previous international tournament that Pakistan hosted was the Asia Cup in 2008 but more recently, Sri Lanka had visited the country for an ODI and T20I series.

Expected teams to participate in the 2020 Asia Cup:
India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Qualifier.

Qualifier to be played in Malaysia in August 2020. More information still awaited on this.

History of the Asia Cup

The Asia Cup is a tournament conducted by the Asian Cricket Council every two years. The Asia Cup originated in 1984 and the purpose behind it was to promote peace between the Asian countries.

The tournament was primarily a One Day International tournament but since 2016, the tournament is rotated between the One Day International format and the T20 format as announced by the ICC. The most successful team in the history of the tournament is India who has won the tournament seven times. The previous edition of the tournament was won by India as they defeated Bangladesh by 3 wickets in the finals. The tournament was played in the UAE last year.

Asia Cup Schedule 2018

No Asia Cup 2018 Schedule Date Time Venue
1 BAN won by 137 runs against SL 15-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
2 PAK won by 8 wickets against HK 16-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
3 AFG won by 91 runs against SL 17-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Abu Dhabi
4 IND won by 26 runs against HK 18-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
5 IND won by 8 wickets against PAK 19-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
6 AFG won by 136 runs against BAN 20-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Abu Dhabi
7 IND won by 7 wickets against BAN 21-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
8 PAK won by 3 wickets against AFG 21-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Abu Dhabi
9 IND won by 9 wickets against PAK 23-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
10 BAN won by 3 runs against AFG 23-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Abu Dhabi
11 IND vs AFG – Match tied 25-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai
12 BAN won against PAK 26-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Abu Dhabi
13 Asia Cup 2018 FinalIND won by 7 wickets against BAN 28-Sep 16:30 PKT / 17:00 IST Dubai

Note: All matches will be played at 3:30 PM local time / 4:30 PM Pakistan time / 5:00 PM Indian time / 11:30 AM GMT.

Asia Cup 2020 Team Squads Players List

Asia Cup cricket 2020 team squads are placed below.

Pakistan Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Fahim Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam Ul Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Muhammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), Ambati Rayudu, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Kedar Jadhav, Khaleel Ahmed, KL Rahul, Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal

Afghanistan Squad: Asghar Afghan(c), Aftab Alam, Gulbadin Naib, Hashmat Shahidi, Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Munir Ahmad Kakar (wk), Najibullah Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Rashid Khan, Samiullah Shinwari, Sayed Ahmad Sherzad, Sharafudin Ashraf, Yamin Ahmadzai

Sri Lanka Squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilruwan Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Lasith Malinga, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Upul Tharanga

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Abu Haider Rony, Ariful Haque, Liton Das, Mahmud Ullah, Md Mithun, Mehidy Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Tamim Iqbal (ruled out due to fractured wrist)

Hong Kong Squad: Anshuman Rath (c), Christopher Carter, Babar Hayat, Nizakat Khan, Kinchit Shah, Ehsan Khan, Aizaz Khan, Scott McKechnie (wk), Tanwir Afzal, Ehsan Nawaz, Nadeem Ahmed, Jhatavedh Subramanyan, Waqas Khan, Cameron McAulsan, Arshad Mohammad

All these teams will thereby play two games in the group stage of the competition and the top two sides from each group at the end of this league stage will qualify for the second round. The second round is a Super Four stage, one that will see all four teams feature against each other once. At the end of this round, the top two teams will qualify for the final.

Asia Cup Cricket 2020 Broadcast Live TV Channels

Here’s how you can watch the Asia Cup 2020 on TV or on your computer;

Country TV Channels Broadcasting Asia Cup 2018 Live
India Star Sports
Afghanistan 1TV
Pakistan PTV Sports
UK Sky Sports Cricket
Australia Fox Sports
South Africa SuperSport
USA Willow TV
The Middle East and North Africa OSN Sports Cricket
Singapore Star Cricket
Canada ATN Cricket Plus
Malaysia ASTRO Cricket HD
Live streaming available on Hotstar, Now TV, SuperSport Live, Willow TV online

The Asia Cup will be broadcast on different TV channels in different countries participating in the tournament. For instance, PTV and Ten Sports could get the rights to telecast the Asia Cup in Pakistan whereas Star Sports might show the tournament live in India and Sri Lanka.

How to Buy Asia Cup Tickets UAE? – Details for 2018

The Asia Cup will be held in UAE with matches distributed between Dubai International Stadium and Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The final will be played in Dubai. Buy Asia cup tickets online from Platinumlist. Asia Cup 2018 tickets price will range from AED20 to AED750. The tickets can also be purchased from various retail outlets across UAE and at the stadium box office. The hospitality packages for VIP and Corporate Suites can be purchased directly from Dubai Sports City and Abu Dhabi Cricket. You can place your enquiry via email addressed to [email protected] or [email protected]

1 comment… add one
  • Aabid Jul 3, 2020, 5:21 am

    M amir haa Pak squad maa

Leave a Comment