Afghanistan Premier League 2019 Schedule, Team Squads

Balkh Legends win APL 2018 League

Afghanistan Premier League 2018The first season of the Afghanistan Premier League was held in 2018 and Balkh Legends won the title by beating Kabul in the final. The fans watched some of their best cricketers feature in a home-grown Afghanistan Premier League T20 from October 5 to 21, 2018. Get all details around APL 2019 schedule, squads, tickets & live streaming options here.

What Happened in APL 2018?

Balkh Legends beat Kabul Zwanan in the final to lift the APL trophy in the first season. This was thanks to a fine showing from Qais Ahmed and Chris Gayle, who combined with the ball and bat to help their side overcome Kabul.

Qais took five wickets in his four-over spell before Gayle hammered a half-century to ensure a victory by four wickets.

Earlier, the Afghanistan Premier League semi-final line-up was decided and Balkh Legends took on Nangarhar Leopards while Paktia Panthers played Kabul Zwanan.

This was after the Legends finished at the top of the points table with 12 points, winning six games from eight games. Paktia, Kabul and Nangarhar won five, four and three matches respectively with Kandahar bowing out of the competition with just two wins under their belt.

The second season of the league can be played in the UAE after all the matches of the first season were played at the Sharjah cricket stadium. The Afghanistan Premier League tickets for the first season were also available on which is where the tickets for the second season can also be expected to be sold.

In the first season, there were five teams based out of the following provinces in Afghanistan – Kabul, Nangarhar, Kandahar, Balkh and Paktia. The league was played over 17 days with 23 matches in total. Each of these teams faced off against the other four twice. At the end of the league stage of the competition, each side had played eight times and the top four teams made it to the knock-out stage of the tournament. The Sharjah Stadium will also host the T10 League from November 23.

Afghanistan Premier League APL Schedule 2018

Date Day APL League Schedule Time
05/10/2018 Friday Kabul vs Paktia 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
06/10/2018 Saturday Nangarhar vs Kandahar 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
06/10/2018 Saturday Kabul vs Balkh 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
07/10/2018 Sunday Paktia vs Nangarhar 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
07/10/2018 Sunday Balkh vs Kandahar 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
09/10/2018 Tuesday Kabul vs Nangarhar 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
10/10/2018 Wednesday Paktia vs Balkh 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
11/10/2018 Thursday Kandahar vs Kabul 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
11/10/2018 Thursday Nangarhar vs Balkh 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
12/10/2018 Friday Paktia vs Kandahar 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
12/10/2018 Friday Kabul vs Nangarhar 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
13/10/2018 Saturday Balkh vs Paktia 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
13/10/2018 Saturday Kandahar vs Nangarhar 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
14/10/2018 Sunday Kabul vs Balkh 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
14/10/2018 Sunday Nangarhar vs Paktia 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
16/10/2018 Tuesday Kabul vs Kandahar 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
17/10/2018 Wednesday Nangarhar vs Balkh 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
17/10/2018 Wednesday Kandahar vs Paktia 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
18/10/2018 Thursday Kandahar vs Balkh 5 PM PKT / 5:30 PM IST
18/10/2018 Thursday Kabul vs Paktia 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
19/10/2018 Friday Nangarhar vs Balkh Semi-Final 1 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
20/10/2018 Saturday Kabul vs Paktia Semi-Final 2 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST
21/10/2018 Sunday Balkh vs Kabul Final 9 PM PKT / 9:30 PM IST

Afghanistan Premier League Team Squads Players List

The APL T20 squads for 2018 were announced at the end of a player draft that took place on the 10th of September. Here are the squads for last year:

Team City Team Squads for Afghanistan Premier League 2018
Balkh Legends Mazar-i-Sharif Mohammad Nabi (c), Aftab Alam, Asadullah Matani, Ben Laughlin, Chris Gayle, Colin Munro, Darwish Rasooli, Dilshan Munaweera, Farhan Zakhil, Gulbadin Naib, Ikram Ali Khil, Malcolm Waller, Mirwais Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Ravi Bopara, Ryan ten Doeschate, Samiullah, Tariq Stanikzai, Usman Ghani
Kabul Zwanan Kabul Rashid Khan (c), Afsar Zazai, Ali Khan, Colin Ingram, Fareed Ahmad, Fitratullah Khawari, Hazratullah Zazai, Javed Ahmadi, Laurie Evans, Luke Ronchi, Muslim Musa, Nasir Totakhil, Nijat Masood, Shahidullah Kamal, Shawkat Zaman, Usman Adil, Wayne Parnell, Zahir Shehzad, Zamir Khan
Kandahar Knights Kandahar Asghar Afghan (c), Amir Hamza, Ashish Bagai, Brendon McCullum, Karim Janat, Karim Sadiq, Kevin O Brien, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Naveed, Najibullah Zadran, Nasir Jamal, Paul Stirling, Sayed Shirzad, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Tymal Mills, Waheedullah Shafaq, Waqar Salamkheil, Waqarullah Ishaq
Nangarhar Leopards Jalalabad Andre Russell, Andre Fletcher, Anton Devcich, Ben Cutting, Fazal Haque, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ibrahim Zadran, Imran Janat, Johnson Charles, Khaiber Omar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najeeb Tarakai, Nasratullah, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rahmat Shah, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shafiqullah Shafiq, Zahir Khan
Paktia Panthers Khost, Loya Paktia Mohammad Shahzad (c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Calum MacLeod, Cameron Delport, Fazal Rahman, Ihsanullah Janat, Isuru Udana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Samiullah Shenwari, Shahid Afridi, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Sikandar Raza, Yamin Ahmadzai, Yousuf Zazai, Zia-ur-Rehman

Since this is the first season of the Afghanistan Premier League – or APL as we call it here – the cricket board of Afghanistan has decided to go for just five franchise-based sides. These teams will be located in Balkh (called the Balkh Legends), Kabul (Kabul Zwanan), Kandahar (Kandahar Knights), Nangarhar (Nangarhar Leopards) and Paktia (Paktia Panthers), with each team facing off against each other twice. And if you are looking to follow the Afghanistan Premier League live scores, text commentary and results, we have it all in here.

The Legends will be led by Mohammad Nabi, an Afghan all-rounder and a legend in his own right. Rashid Khan, who recently turned 20, is already on his way to becoming a world legend, not just an Afghan great and he will be captaining Kabul, while New Zealander Brendon McCullum has been given the reins of Kandahar. Nangarhar will be captained by Andre Russell while Paktia will be led by Pakistani great Shahid Afridi.

According to sources, all the top T20 cricketers from around the world, including Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Shahid Afridi among others will take part in the competition subject to availability.

Afghanistan Premier League Points Table

Afghanistan Premier League 2018 points table will be automatically updated below after each match.

Team Pld W L NR Pts NRR
Balkh Legends 8 6 2 0 12 0.782
Paktia Panthers 8 5 3 0 10 0.144
Kabul Zwanan 8 4 4 0 8 -0.070
Nangarhar Leopards 8 3 5 0 6 -0.582
Kandahar Knights 8 2 6 0 4 -0.226

Afghanistan Premier League Broadcast TV Channels

Depending on which country you are in, your local broadcaster will telecast it on your TV. However, you can watch the APL tournament online as well.

Country TV Channel
Pakistan GEO Super
India and the subcontinent DSport
Canada Asian Television Network (ATN Cricket Plus)
North Africa & Middle East OSN Cricket
USA Willow TV, YuppTV
New Zealand Sky
Sri Lanka Channel Eye (SLRC)
Afghanistan Ariana Television Network (ATN)
Bangladesh Gazi TV
Caribbean Flow
UK Free Sports
Australia Fox Sports

Afghanistan Premier League 2018 Live Score

Follow the entire Afghanistan Premier League below with live scores and our own comments below. Feel free to comment on what you think could happen or your opinion about the games from October 5, which is the first day of the competition. Get live cricket scores & commentary for all APL 2018 league below.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment