South African T20 2018 Schedule Live Streaming & Squads

CSA reveal new T20 league

There will be no T20 Global League in South Africa from 2018 after it was scrapped off before it could take off in 2017. While that would come as bad news to cricket fans around the world, the good news is that it will be replaced by a new T20 tournament with its first edition to be played in 2018.

This new T20 competition that will be played in South Africa from 2018 will be on the lines of many a T20 leagues around the world but there wouldn’t be any franchises and the finances will be be pumped in by Cricket South Africa and one more entity. That entity, SuperSport, will also be the official broadcaster of this South African T20 League that will now have teams which are different from those that were expected to play in the Global T20 League.

The South African cricket board will own the majority share in the competition while the TV channel and cricket broadcaster SuperSport will have a minority share. They will also produce the tournament and sell it to TV channels around the world. The bigger good news, that means, is that unlike in 2017, this tournament will have no trouble in finding a broadcaster.

This new T20 League is yet to be named but will be played on similar lines as the previous one. There will be six to eight teams and each of these sides will be based out of a region in the country. Also these teams will play each other on a home and away basis and at the end of this round-robin format of the competition, there will be playoffs.

Much like the previous T20 League, this will see players from around the globe. What needs to be seen is whether CSA will pump in enough money to attract the top talent or if this new league will be a slightly better of the CSA T20 Challenge, the other league that is played in the country. However, what is assured is that the likes of AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada will all be participate in the tournament.

Overseas players like Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Lasith Malinga and co. will all be in running to get signed up by this South African T20 League. The tournament is expected to be played between mid-November to mid-December.

More information on the South African T20 League squads, draft, schedule, tickets, live streaming and TV options will be revealed as we get closer to the start of the competition.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment