Pakistani Players in Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018

Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2018 to showcase more Pakistan Players

Pakistani Players in Hong Kong T20 Blitz

The third edition of the Hong Kong T20 Blitz will be held in February 2018 and much like the previous season, cricketers from all around the world will participate in the competition. The competition will be played between February 6-11. 10 league games will be played in the tournament with the final to be played on Sunday, Feb 11.

What’s interesting to note for the Pakistani fans is that there will be quite a few Pakistani cricketers who will feature in the T20 Blitz as they look to get into T20 mode in the lead-up to the Pakistan Super League.

Among the Pakistani cricketers who have been signed up so far are fast bowler Hassan Ali, who will play for the Hong Kong Island United. He is currently the world’s best fast bowler, having captured the imagination of the world with his tournament-winning spells during the 2017 Champions Trophy as he finished the competition with the most wickets to his name.

Joining him for the City Kaitak will be Sohail Tanvir, who was the team’s first overseas selection and while he is primarily a fast bowler who can run through sides, he can also be equally destructive with the bat on his day. Tanvir has been playing in the top leagues around the world including the Caribbean Premier League.

Leg-spinner Shadab Khan was recently signed up in the Big Bash League and he will be playing for the Hong Kong Island United along with Hassan Ali. Shadab is one of the top leggies in the world today and can hurry the batsmen with his googly apart from sending down his bunch of leggies.

More information on other Pakistan players and the squads for the Hong Kong T20 Blitz will be released as we get closer to the start of the tournament.

One game will be played on the opening day which will be followed by two games apiece on the rest of the days, leading up to grand final which will see the teams ranked one and two on the points table face off.

Pakistani Players in Hong Kong T20 Blitz 2017

Pakistan will be represented by six cricketers in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz that will kick-start at the conclusion of the Pakistan Super League. The tournament will be played from March 8 to 12, with five teams battling it out for the top two spot in a one-leg round-robin format.

The five teams that will feature in the tournament are Galaxy Gladiators Lantau, HKI United, City Kaitak, Kowloon Cantons and Hung Hom JD Jaguars. Four of these teams will have representation from Pakistan, with the City Kaitak being the only team to not feature a Pakistani player.

The Galaxy Gladiators Lantau have not signed up any Pakistani players for the second edition of the HK T20 Blitz, while the HKI United will be represented by Misbah-ul-Haq and Saeed Ajmal, both of whom also featured in the Pakistan Super League for the Islamabad United.

Kowloon Cantons will have Boom Boom Shahid Afridi, a former Peshawar Zalmi captain along side Yasir Arafat who missed the PSL but will look to form an integral part of the competition as a death overs specialist.

The other Pakistani cricketer in action will be Hung Hom JD JaguarsMohammad Hafeez, who also played for the Peshawar Zalmi in this PSL season.

Other overseas players in action during the Hong Kong T20 Blitz will be West Indies’ Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Dwayne Smith, Nicholas Pooran and Rayad Emrit, England’s Ian Bell and Chris Jordan, New Zealand’s James Franklin and Jesse Ryder, Sri Lanka’s T Dilshan, Seekkuge Prasanna and Kumar Sangakkara, South Africa’s Johan Botha, Scotland’s George Munsey, Kyle Coetzer and Calum MacLeod, UAE’s Mohammad Naveed and Papua New Guinea’s Assad Vala.

1 comment… add one
  • Umer Latif Chauhan Mar 2, 2018, 3:18 pm

    UMER PUNJAB PAKISTAN 03484292869

Leave a Comment