Pakistan Super League Points Table

PSL Points Table 2018

Latest PSL points table will be placed here. The third edition on the Pakistan Super League will be played in 2018 and the PSL Points Table for the season will be updated here. Peshawar Zalmi will kick-start the competition as defending champions after having won the title in 2017 by beating the Quetta Gladiators.

What happened in the PSL second edition:

Peshawar Zalmi became the second winners of the Pakistan Super League when they beat the Quetta Gladiators in the final. Zalmi were restricted 148 batting first but the Gladiators never got a move on and were bowled out for 90 in the 17th over. Darren Sammy was the man-of-the-match while Kamran Akmal won the man-of-the-tournament award.

In the first match of the playoffs, Quetta Gladiators managed to overcome Peshawar Zalmi by a solitary run after they grabbed three wickets from the final three deliveries to cause an upset. Karachi were bowled out cheaply in the second playoffs game but came back strongly to dismiss Islamabad United for a sub-100 score to march into the second Qualifier. Peshawar Zalmi hammered a 180-plus score in the third Qualifier and while Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard batted with some aggression in reply, they failed to push the Kings through.

PSL Format & Points System

The PSL will have a format that is resonant with the other T20 formats adopted by the cricketing countries elsewhere. Till last year, the five teams played against each other twice (home and away) and the winner of every match got two points.

This year onward, this aforementioned format is going to continue except that there will be a sixth team, the Multan Sultans, who will feature in the tournament. So the six teams will play each other in a home and away format with a total of 30 games in the league stages of the tournament.

In case of abandonment, both teams will get 1 point apiece. At the end of this stage, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-final matches. The winners of the two semi-finals will face-off in the final on February 24 to determine the ultimate winner of the tournament.

PSL will follow the rules and regulation laid down by ICC which are also followed by other cricket leagues.

Points will be awarded as follows during the group stage:

  • 2 points will be awarded for a win.
  • 1 point each will be awarded to both teams in case of no result.
  • 0 points will be awarded for a loss.

If the scores are tied at the end of a match, a super over will determine the winner. This is also valid for the group stages.

The rankings of teams in the points table will be based on the following criteria:

  1. Higher number of points.
  2. If teams are on equal number of points, higher number of wins.
  3. If still equal, then net run rate.
  4. If still equal, then lower bowling strike rate.
  5. If still equal, then the result of head-to-head meeting will determine the relative standing of the teams.

At the end of the league stage of the tournament, four of the five teams will make it to the second round, the playoffs.

The top two sides, Team 1 and Team 2 will then play each other and the winner will make it to the final. The next two ranked sides, Team 3 and Team 4 will play in an eliminator, with the losing team crashing out.

The winning team in the Team 3 v Team 4 game will take on the losing team in the Team 1 v Team 2 game in what will be the third match of the knock-outs. The winner of this encounter will make the final.

What happened in the first PSL edition?

Despite finishing third in the PSL points table in the first edition of the Pakistan Super League, Islamabad United went on to win the title. They defeated the Karachi Kings in the second Qualifier, before going on to crush Peshawar Zalmi in the third Qualifier.

In the final, the United took on Quetta Gladiators and chased down a target of 175 rather easily thanks to knocks from Brad Haddin and Dwayne Smith, both of whom hit fifties.

Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators finished the Pakistan Super League 2016 league stage with six wins apiece. They ended on 12 points with the Zalmis taking the top spot as a result of a better net run-rate. After a slow start, Islamabad United notched up four wins to finish on eight points, while Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars rivalled each other on four points.

Unfortunately for the Qalandars, their net run-rate was rather poor and that allowed the Kings to finish fourth to take the last semi-final berth. The semi-final line-up will see Zalmi take on the Karachi and Islamabad play Quetta.

A Background on the PSL

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) became Pakistan’s premier professional T20 tournament after being first announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board as early as in 2009. Inordinate delays have caused the tournament to be rescheduled and it is finally set to host its inaugural edition in February 2016.

The PSL is being staged in the United Arab Emirates and is already the next biggest happening in the shortest format of the game after the Indian Premier League (IPL).

A total of 24 matches will be played over a 21-day period from February 4 to February 24 in Dubai and Sharjah.

Each franchise will have total of 16 players that will include 5 foreign players and 11 Pakistani nationals including at least two emerging players.

PSL 2017 Points Table

Peshawar Zalmi 8 4 3 0 1 9 0.309
Quetta Gladiators 8 4 3 0 1 9 0.166
Karachi Kings 8 4 4 0 0 8 -0.098
Islamabad United 8 4 4 0 0 8 -0.139
Lahore Qalandars 8 3 5 0 0 6 -0.223
2346 comments… add one
  • Hassaan Feb 12, 2017, 1:46 pm

    Islamabad United IA

  • waleed ahmed Feb 12, 2017, 1:16 pm

    Quettttttta will win inshaallah

  • EliteGaming Feb 12, 2017, 1:04 pm

    Lahore Qalandars will win IN SHA ALLAH

  • Sheraz Ahmad Sheraz Feb 12, 2017, 12:54 pm

    Karachi Jeete Ga…

  • Anonymous Feb 12, 2017, 12:53 pm

    Karachi Jeete Ga…….

  • Yasir Feb 12, 2017, 12:23 pm

    peshawar zalmi

  • ghazi abbas Feb 12, 2017, 12:20 pm

    now today lahore is going to win

  • Shatee Feb 12, 2017, 11:51 am

    Quetta gladiators will win the 2nd psl edition 2017
    Insha ALLAH

    • SK SUNNY Feb 13, 2017, 5:58 am


  • kashif Feb 12, 2017, 11:48 am

    Islamabd will win
    balancs squad

  • ibrahim memon Feb 12, 2017, 11:40 am

    Karachi jeetay ga

  • A.R.K Feb 12, 2017, 11:27 am

    Dream on people Karachi may started slow but it’s gonna make a comeback

  • sunny tarar Feb 12, 2017, 11:08 am

    Karachi has best squad but has bad luck
    Other hand zalmi is best and won PSL in shah Allah

  • rameez Feb 12, 2017, 10:51 am

    Qalanders win k match

  • Abdul Moiz Feb 12, 2017, 9:57 am

    Queeta Gladiators is best inshallah queeta win this league

  • Shehzad Feb 12, 2017, 9:08 am

    Lahore Qalander win League

  • mohammad anax Feb 12, 2017, 9:07 am

    peshawar zalmi win the title

  • Shehzad qamar Feb 12, 2017, 9:06 am

    Lahore Qalander win

  • Ali Raza Sandhu Feb 12, 2017, 9:01 am

    Lala Zindabad

  • Anonymous Feb 12, 2017, 8:53 am

    QaLanDeRs will win

  • Sajid Ameer wasi Feb 12, 2017, 8:33 am

    Inshallah Lahore qalander win

  • Sajid Ameer wasi Feb 12, 2017, 8:32 am

    Lahore qalander

  • MUHAMMAD AFAQ Feb 12, 2017, 7:54 am

    zalmi win this league

    • Ali Raza Sandhu Feb 12, 2017, 9:01 am


  • Reham Feb 12, 2017, 7:45 am

    InshaAllah Peshawar win this league

    • Shahbaz ahmed Feb 12, 2017, 7:57 am

      Any one take cup but Pakistan cricket should win

    • Imran khan Feb 12, 2017, 2:11 pm

      insha Allah

  • A LOVE U Feb 12, 2017, 7:20 am


  • M. ASIF KHAN Feb 12, 2017, 6:40 am


    • psladmin Feb 12, 2017, 7:51 am


Leave a Comment