Pakistan Super League Points Table

PSL Points Table 2016

PSL Points Table 2016

Islamabad United win PSL 1 – finished 3rd in the PSL Points Table

Despite finishing third in the PSL points table in the first edition of the Pakistan Super League, Islamabad United went on to win the title. They defeated the Karachi Kings in the second Qualifier, before going on to crush Peshawar Zalmi in the third Qualifier.

In the final, the United took on Quetta Gladiators and chased down a target of 175 rather easily thanks to knocks from Brad Haddin and Dwayne Smith, both of whom hit fifties.

The second edition of the Pakistan Super League will be played next year with the dates yet to be announced. Of course, what also needs to be seen is if the competition will be held in the UAE or moved back to Pakistan, something that the fans will definitely want.

Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators finished the Pakistan Super League 2016 league stage with six wins apiece. They ended on 12 points with the Zalmis taking the top spot as a result of a better net run-rate. After a slow start, Islamabad United notched up four wins to finish on eight points, while Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars rivalled each other on four points. Unfortunately for the Qalandars, their net run-rate was rather poor and that allowed the Kings to finish fourth to take the last semi-final berth. The semi-final line-up will see Zalmi take on the Karachi and Islamabad play Quetta.

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) which is set to become Pakistan’s premier professional T20 tournament was announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board as early as in 2009. Inordinate delays have caused the tournament to be rescheduled and it is finally set to host its inaugural edition in February 2016.

The PSL will be staged in the United Arab Emirates and it promises to be the next biggest happening in the shortest format of the game after the Indian Premier League (IPL).

A total of 24 matches will be played over a 21-day period from February 4 to February 24 in Dubai and Sharjah.

Each franchise will have total of 16 players that will include 5 foreign players and 11 Pakistani nationals including at least two emerging players.

The PSL 2016 points table will be updated after every match to show the relative standing of each team. The tournament will consist of two stages – round robin and knock out.

The PSL will have a format that is resonant with the other T20 formats adopted by the cricketing countries elsewhere. The 5 teams will play each other twice (home and away) and the winner of every match gets two points.

In case of abandonment, both teams will get 1 point apiece. At the end of this stage, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-final matches. The winners of the two semi-finals will face-off in the final on February 24 to determine the ultimate winner of the tournament.

PSL will follow the rules and regulation laid down by ICC which are also followed by other cricket leagues.

Points will be awarded as follows during the group stage:

  • 2 points will be awarded for a win.
  • 1 point each will be awarded to both teams in case of no result.
  • 0 points will be awarded for a loss.

If the scores are tied at the end of a match, a super over will determine the winner. This is also valid for the group stages.

The rankings of teams in the PSL points table will be based on the following criteria:

  1. Higher number of points.
  2. If teams are on equal number of points, higher number of wins.
  3. If still equal, then net run rate.
  4. If still equal, then lower bowling strike rate.
  5. If still equal, then the result of head-to-head meeting will determine the relative standing of the teams.

At the end of the league stage of the tournament, four of the five teams will make it to the second round, the playoffs.

The top two sides, Team 1 and Team 2 will then play each other and the winner will make it to the final. The next two ranked sides, Team 3 and Team 4 will play in an eliminator, with the losing team crashing out.

The winning team in the Team 3 v Team 4 game will take on the losing team in the Team 1 v Team 2 game in what will be the third match of the knock-outs. The winner of this encounter will make the final.

144 comments… add one
  • osmankhan Jan 18, 2017, 9:32 am


  • Haseeb Jan 14, 2017, 8:06 pm

    I love lahore qalandars but are not good play but next time to good luck lahore qalandar. lahore zindabad

  • Haseeb Jan 14, 2017, 8:05 pm

    I love lahore qalandars but are not good play but next time to good luck lahore qalandar

  • mohammad shehzad Dec 20, 2016, 2:26 pm

    quetta gladiators

  • Anonymous Dec 20, 2016, 2:22 pm

    quetta gladiators

  • Anonymous Nov 22, 2016, 3:33 pm

    Karachi kingd

  • Anonymous Nov 22, 2016, 3:32 pm


  • m. muneeb Nov 10, 2016, 1:20 pm

    i like islamabad but he was lose 4 matches but he was win final match because dr smith dive catch

  • Sarkar Talha Oct 27, 2016, 3:01 pm

    United we win

  • ABDULLAH CH Oct 21, 2016, 11:51 am


  • naeem ishaq from gujrat RCC Sep 17, 2016, 6:56 pm

    we loved L Q inshallah we win next psl
    Akmal n gayle n new young player doing good

  • Mohammad Rizwan Feb 22, 2016, 8:59 am


  • Mohammed Rizwan Feb 22, 2016, 8:57 am

    I love Waseem Akram and Misbah so Islamabad United will win the CUP of first PSL.

  • Syed Jawad Ali Feb 21, 2016, 7:01 am

    Zalmi will win the 1st PSL Cup, In Sha Allah

  • Waseem manan Feb 20, 2016, 7:23 pm

    Sarfaraz doka nahe de ga gueta ke awam ko inshallah queta final jet kar lae gi

    • Munir Ahmad Dec 5, 2016, 12:48 pm

      InshaAllah Queeta Galdiator jeety gi

  • hbj Feb 20, 2016, 3:13 pm

    zalmi zindabad

    • naeem ishaq from gujrat RCC Sep 17, 2016, 6:53 pm

      we loved u L Q inshallah we win next PSL

  • Bill Feb 19, 2016, 5:58 am

    Folks, This tournament is a fantastic breakthrough for bring cricket to Pakistan.
    I hope our Canadian team will join them in future. Great work Pakistani People.
    Congratulation !!

  • ijaz Feb 18, 2016, 8:13 am

    Boom boom zalmi

  • shaikh atif Feb 18, 2016, 5:17 am

    i think hum logo ko merit ko support karna chahiya, waisay i am belongs to karachi magar karachi key team bohat week hay Q K iska leader kud bohat dara howa hay is liya team perform nahi kar rahi hay, pata nahi Frenches owner nay big name Q nahi liya international player say ??? please wake up owner and kike out all loser …

  • ARSHAD IQBAL MUGHAL Feb 18, 2016, 5:01 am

    Peshawar Zalmi is win Final Cup of PSL. Inshallah/


Leave a Comment