Pakistan Squad for Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan name squad for Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017Pakistan have named their 15-member squad for the 2017 Champions Trophy and it will be led by wicket-keeper batsman Sarfaraz Ahmed. The complete ICC champions trophy 2017 Pakistan squad is placed below.

Azhar Ali has made a surprise return back to the ODI squad after being dropped from the side that played in West Indies while Kamran Akmal has been dropped. Interestingly, his brother Umar Akmal was named in the squad initially. He too loses the spot now after failing fitness tests. PCB named Haris Sohail as the replacement. Wahab Riaz ruled out of Champions Trophy as he suffered an ankle injury in his first match against India on Sunday. Rumman Raees comes in as his replacement.

The 23-year-old Fahim Ashraf is yet to make his international debut for Pakistan in any of the three formats despite being in the Pakistan squad for the series in West Indies. Fakhar Zaman hasn’t played ODI cricket yet but was a part of the T20I playing XIs against West Indies.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq’s decision to name the players was based, according to him, on the conditions they will encounter in the UK where the Champions Trophy will be played.

Pakistan begin their Champions Trophy campaign with a game against arch-rivals India on June 4 and will follow it up with matches against South Africa and Sri Lanka. They will also feature in two warm-up games against Australia and Bangladesh before the start of the tournament on June 1.

The top two teams at the end of the group stages of the competition from each of the two groups, will make it to the semi-finals.

The matches at the 2017 Champions Trophy will be played at The Oval in London, Edgbaston in Birmingham and Sophia Gardens in Cardiff, Wales. India will kick-start the tournament as the defending champions having won the title in 2013 after beating England in the final. Pakistan announce 15-member Champions Trophy squad as shown below.

Pakistan squad for Champions Trophy 2017

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Junaid Khan, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Fakhar Zaman, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Haris Sohail, Rumman Raees

Pakistan Champions Trophy 2017 Schedule

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment