Pakistan Super League PSL 2017

PSL 2 to begin from February 9 in Dubai

hbl psl 2017

The PSL Pakistan Super League 2017 is scheduled to begin on Feb 9th 2017 in UAE. The opening ceremony and the first match will be played on Feb 9th with the final taking place in Lahore on March 7. The number of matches has been increased from 16 to 18. You can also get all the information on the PSL tickets for the second season here.

The PSL Draft for the second edition of the tournament was held on October 19 and all five teams announced their squads with most teams consisting of around 20 players from Pakistan and overseas.

A few of the players were retained from the previous season by teams while the others were picked afresh from the PSL Draft. There was also a transfer window in which teams like Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars exchanged players.

New Players like Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Brendon McCullum had also agreed to getting themselves placed in the Draft and were picked up by respective teams during the Draft, while Chris Gayle was let go of by Lahore and selected by Karachi.

Alex Hales got a nod as a supplementary player, as did Anton Devcich while there were many experienced and young Pakistani players who got the nod too.

Misbah-ul-Haq will lead the defending champions Islamabad United yet again while Shahid Afridi handed over the captaincy of Peshawar Zalmi to Darren Sammy. Sarfaraz Ahmed will look to guide the Quetta Gladiators, while Sangakkara leads the Karachi Kings. Lahore Qalandars will be captained by Brendon McCullum.

Even bigger news is coming from the PSL stable is that the final of the next edition of the Pakistan Super League will be played in Lahore, Pakistan. The Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore will host the final according to PCB chief Najam Sethi.

The first ever edition of the Pakistan Super League T20 ended on February 23 with Islamabad United winning the title after defeating Quetta Gladiators in the final of the tournament.

The foundation for Islamabad’s victory in the final was laid by Andre Russell’s three-wicket haul before Dwayne Smith and Brad Haddin smashed fifties to guide the side towards their chase of 175 against Quetta Gladiators.

Ahmed Shehzad and Kumar Sangakkara had hit fifties of their own in the final for the Gladiators, and at one stage would have harboured thoughts for a win after piling up 174 in a pressure final.

Earlier, the Quetta Gladiators made the final by winning their only playoff match against Peshawar Zalmi, edging Peshawar out by a run. This was followed by Islamabad overcoming the Karachi Kings by nine wickets, a chase of 115 that lasted just 14.2 overs for them.

Islambad were then slotted to take on the Zalmis in which they crushed their opponents yet again. Sharjeel Khan became the first centurion in the PSL T20 to steer his side to 176 for three in the 20 overs before the United saw Russell and Imran Khalid share seven wickets to bowl Peshawar out for 126.

Among the five sides, Lahore Qalandars faced the bitter end of the disappointment as they failed to qualify for the final four. Despite having a strong squad with names like Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, they could win just two matches out of the possible eight.

The HBL PSL cricket league has put the cricket action from the country back on the map. Boasting of international players and a league like format, the tournament took place in three stages, which was played in Dubai and Sharjah. The teams representing five major cities – Peshawar, Quetta, Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore took part in the competition.

The PSL 2017 schedule for the second edition of the tournament is our and the fans will hope the final gets played in Pakistan this time as promised. Even if it’s not possible, the tournament has made an excellent start and there will be a lot of fans waiting with bated breath for the second season.

784 comments… add one
  • Bilal Dilber Jan 7, 2017, 8:56 am

    I support Lahore qalander

  • Noman Tanha Jan 7, 2017, 6:25 am

    peshawar zalmi jeety ga

  • Noman Tanha Jan 7, 2017, 6:24 am

    peshawar zalmi he jeety gi (inshaAllha)

  • Anonymous Jan 7, 2017, 4:28 am

    peshawar is winning

  • Saad Ullah Khan Jan 5, 2017, 6:25 pm

    Inshallah Peshawer Zalimi Win kry ga Ak Afridi he ko khelta dakhta hn.Afridi k bagir match dakhany ka dil he ni krta.Inshallah Afridi phir se hela kr rakh dy ga

  • Muhammad Emran Jan 5, 2017, 10:35 am

    Insh-Allah Karachi Kings Geety gy.

    • nadeem Jan 6, 2017, 6:06 am

      Lahore qalandars will bring a tight show this timed.

  • Qalandars Jan 5, 2017, 9:41 am

    Qalandars rock inshallah

  • Anonymous Jan 5, 2017, 9:07 am

    Afridi Is Win The Game Yes

  • Ammad Hassan Jan 5, 2017, 7:09 am

    InshAllah Islamabad Untid wins Again

    • Hasnaat Jan 7, 2017, 3:10 pm

      PyaR se hum heal ja jaan hum le Lein ge pyar mien jeet ha jeet mien den ten ten.

  • Rimsha Jan 5, 2017, 12:32 am

    InshaAllah karachi win psl Finall 2017

    • Muzaffar Abbas Ksb punjab Jan 7, 2017, 3:42 am

      Is martba inshaAllha shaid khan Afridi jeety ga .

  • Waseem Rokhan Jan 4, 2017, 4:00 pm

    Peshawar xalmi will be the winner. Insha Allah

  • Bilal Rao Jan 4, 2017, 1:20 pm


  • Hassam kibzai Jan 4, 2017, 10:12 am

    Love u Quetta Gladiatorsss……………….

  • Taha Jan 4, 2017, 8:29 am

    Quetta gladiator will win insha ALLAH

    • Peshawar Jan 5, 2017, 4:50 pm

      Peshawar geeta g

  • azadar ali Jan 4, 2017, 7:10 am

    i support KARACHI KINGS

  • Nadeem Haider Jan 3, 2017, 5:26 pm

    Is baar Peshawar zalmi jeete gi inshalla

  • fazal mohsin Jan 3, 2017, 4:32 pm

    I support zalmi

  • fazal mohsin Jan 3, 2017, 4:31 pm

    East or west ZALMI is the best.

  • SAIF AFRIDI Jan 3, 2017, 4:13 pm


  • Majid Minhas Jan 3, 2017, 8:40 am

    i support all the teams in psl but i like shahid Afridi very much . So best of luck Shahid Afridi and all the team in psl and also best of luck Psl…..

  • Noman Jan 3, 2017, 7:13 am

    Peshawar win

  • shoaib khan from peshawar Jan 3, 2017, 5:55 am

    Inshallah peshawar zalmi jetay ge g,

  • saim ali sialkoti champ $ 44 Jan 2, 2017, 8:10 pm

    Peshawar Zalimi inshallah jeety ga
    I am wehller and break dancer

    • usman bahadar Jan 5, 2017, 3:01 pm

      Peshawer zalimi jeety ga ln sha allah

  • muhammad anwaar ahmad Jan 2, 2017, 11:26 am

    lahore jetee ga inshallah

  • abdulsalam sherazi Jan 2, 2017, 10:22 am

    inshallah misbahulhaq win

Leave a Comment