Pakistan Super League PSL 2017

PSL 2 to begin from February 9 in Dubai

hbl psl 2017

The PSL Pakistan Super League 2017 is scheduled to begin on Feb 9th 2017 in UAE. The opening ceremony and the first match will be played on Feb 9th with the final taking place in Lahore on March 7. The number of matches has been increased from 16 to 18. You can also get all the information on the PSL tickets for the second season here.

The PSL Draft for the second edition of the tournament was held on October 19 and all five teams announced their squads with most teams consisting of around 20 players from Pakistan and overseas.

A few of the players were retained from the previous season by teams while the others were picked afresh from the PSL Draft. There was also a transfer window in which teams like Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars exchanged players.

New Players like Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Brendon McCullum had also agreed to getting themselves placed in the Draft and were picked up by respective teams during the Draft, while Chris Gayle was let go of by Lahore and selected by Karachi.

Alex Hales got a nod as a supplementary player, as did Anton Devcich while there were many experienced and young Pakistani players who got the nod too.

Misbah-ul-Haq will lead the defending champions Islamabad United yet again while Shahid Afridi handed over the captaincy of Peshawar Zalmi to Darren Sammy. Sarfaraz Ahmed will look to guide the Quetta Gladiators, while Sangakkara leads the Karachi Kings. Lahore Qalandars will be captained by Brendon McCullum.

Even bigger news is coming from the PSL stable is that the final of the next edition of the Pakistan Super League will be played in Lahore, Pakistan. The Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore will host the final according to PCB chief Najam Sethi.

The first ever edition of the Pakistan Super League T20 ended on February 23 with Islamabad United winning the title after defeating Quetta Gladiators in the final of the tournament.

The foundation for Islamabad’s victory in the final was laid by Andre Russell’s three-wicket haul before Dwayne Smith and Brad Haddin smashed fifties to guide the side towards their chase of 175 against Quetta Gladiators.

Ahmed Shehzad and Kumar Sangakkara had hit fifties of their own in the final for the Gladiators, and at one stage would have harboured thoughts for a win after piling up 174 in a pressure final.

Earlier, the Quetta Gladiators made the final by winning their only playoff match against Peshawar Zalmi, edging Peshawar out by a run. This was followed by Islamabad overcoming the Karachi Kings by nine wickets, a chase of 115 that lasted just 14.2 overs for them.

Islambad were then slotted to take on the Zalmis in which they crushed their opponents yet again. Sharjeel Khan became the first centurion in the PSL T20 to steer his side to 176 for three in the 20 overs before the United saw Russell and Imran Khalid share seven wickets to bowl Peshawar out for 126.

Among the five sides, Lahore Qalandars faced the bitter end of the disappointment as they failed to qualify for the final four. Despite having a strong squad with names like Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, they could win just two matches out of the possible eight.

The HBL PSL cricket league has put the cricket action from the country back on the map. Boasting of international players and a league like format, the tournament took place in three stages, which was played in Dubai and Sharjah. The teams representing five major cities – Peshawar, Quetta, Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore took part in the competition.

The PSL 2017 schedule for the second edition of the tournament is our and the fans will hope the final gets played in Pakistan this time as promised. Even if it’s not possible, the tournament has made an excellent start and there will be a lot of fans waiting with bated breath for the second season.

784 comments… add one
  • mukhtar Jan 2, 2017, 6:52 am

    Peshawar win

  • Main talha Jan 1, 2017, 9:16 am

    Lahore he jeeta ga inshahllah daikh Laina logo

  • saqlain pirzada Jan 1, 2017, 5:21 am

    Peshawar Zalmi is best

  • sarah Dec 31, 2016, 6:04 am

    Karachi kings👍

  • Furqan Khan Nowshervi Dec 30, 2016, 7:45 pm

    Peshawer Zalmi geetey ga
    Peshawer Zalmi will won the Final

  • Ashraf khan Dec 30, 2016, 2:45 pm

    Peshawar Zalmi win karay ga kyun keh Boom Boom jaisa koi dangrious player kise 2sri team men ni hai

  • Amna Dec 29, 2016, 5:08 pm

    Islb will win

  • hussain 28 december Dec 29, 2016, 12:28 pm

    Karachi win

  • Anonymous Dec 28, 2016, 5:38 pm

    Pashwar zulmi zindabad

    PAK zindabad

    Afradi zindabad🙌🙌🙌👍👍

  • zulfi Dec 28, 2016, 3:44 pm

    Quetta insha allah

  • qais Dec 28, 2016, 1:22 pm

    islamabadunited inshalla win this leage

  • Khalidusman Dec 28, 2016, 6:34 am

    100 % 2017 peshawer zalmi will win inshallah

  • Aizaz Ahmed Dec 27, 2016, 9:31 pm

    need six tickets for PSL 2017 final

  • shahzaib hero Dec 27, 2016, 1:19 pm

    i like islamabad united and they will be playing unitedely

  • Shahid Gujjar Dec 27, 2016, 10:55 am

    Karachi king zindabad. Jeety ga

  • Hamza Dec 26, 2016, 6:02 pm

    Pakistan we love u..! I like islamabad united

  • Arslan.mughal Dec 26, 2016, 3:34 pm

    Lahore lahor a zaror jeety ga kewky ladla mughal sport kr rah ha

  • Muhammad Adnan Dec 26, 2016, 4:13 am

    Jo bhi jeete….per jeet pakistan ki hogi.

    • gulfam sultan Jan 1, 2017, 9:35 am

      Nice comment

  • Anonymous Dec 25, 2016, 3:59 pm


  • sameer Dec 25, 2016, 10:23 am


  • AbuZar Dec 24, 2016, 5:31 pm

    Lahore Qalandr inshaAllah win

    • ahmed Dec 28, 2016, 12:34 pm

      karachi jeetay ga in sha allah

  • shahbaz Dec 24, 2016, 6:48 am

    Lahore qalandar in Shaa Allah win hoga is dafa.

  • Abubaker Dec 22, 2016, 3:53 am

    Lahore qalandar jita ga lahore galandar zindabad

    • sameer Dec 25, 2016, 10:20 am

      karachi zindabad

    • inshalla Dec 25, 2016, 1:54 pm


    • qais malik Dec 28, 2016, 1:26 pm

      islamabadunited inshalla win this league

  • Munawar Hayat Dec 21, 2016, 8:23 am

    Pakistan Zinda abad & PSL is the world best league……….

  • Anonymous Dec 21, 2016, 7:51 am

    Quetta gladiators tigers inshallah they will win.

    • farhan Dec 25, 2016, 8:10 am

      QUETTA GLADITORS will win inshallah

    • Muhammad Rehan Dec 31, 2016, 6:56 am

      Peshawar Zalmi Inshallah Will Win PSL 2017.

Leave a Comment