Pakistan Super League PSL 2017

Peshawar Zalmi Win PSL 2017

Peshawar Zalmi win Pakistan Super League 2017Peshawar Zalmi win Pakistan Super League 2017

In what turned out to be a one-sided Pakistan Super League 2017 final, the Peshawar Zalmi defeated the Quetta Gladiators in the title-decider to lift the trophy. Darren Sammy hammered a quick-fire 28 down the order to become the difference between a score of 125 and 148 and on that slow and sluggish surface, the Gladiators were able to manage just 90 in reply. Mohammad Asghar grabbed three wickets while Hasan Ali and Wahab Riaz scalped two apiece.

6th Team Included for PSL 3rd Edition 2018

hbl psl 2017This was after the Lahore Qalandars were knocked out of the PSL much earlier than one would have thought. Led by Brendon McCullum, they finished bottom of the points table to bow out of the competition without making the playoffs.

Quetta Gladiators overcome Peshawar Zalmi in the first Qualifier, in what was a shock result given the position that the Zalmis were in, to make the final.

Karachi Kings dumped the defending champions Islamabad United out of the tournament but then met their match in the Zalmis, who defeated them after setting up a score of 181 in the third Qualifier.

The PSL 2 Final was played with much aplomb in Lahore given all the security issues that had pushed overseas players into pulling out of the game. Still, there were a few overseas cricketers who did tour the country for the final and it turned out to be a rousing success.

Earlier, the PSL 2 Draft for the second edition of the tournament was held on October 19 and all five teams announced their squads with most teams consisting of around 20 players from Pakistan and overseas.

A few of the players were retained from the previous season by teams while the others were picked afresh from the PSL Draft. There was also a transfer window in which teams like Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars exchanged players.

New players like Eoin Morgan, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Brendon McCullum became a part of the tournament, and were picked up by respective teams during the Draft, while Chris Gayle was let go of by Lahore and selected by Karachi.

The following players namely Tilakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Rilee Rossouw, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Mahmudullah Riyad, James Franklin, Chris Green, Jason Roy and Nathan McCullum got a nod as replacement players instead of injured of partly unavailable players.

Misbah-ul-Haq led the defending champions Islamabad United yet again while Shahid Afridi handed over the captaincy of Peshawar Zalmi to Darren Sammy. Sarfaraz Ahmed captained the Quetta Gladiators, while Sangakkara was the skipper of the Karachi Kings. Lahore Qalandars saw Brendon McCullum take over the reins.

Given the success of the first season of Pakistan Super League, the PCB has offered an increase in prize money for the second PSL season. The title winners took home $700,000, as opposed to $500,000 that they had won in the first season while the runner-up gathered $350,000. Last season the runner-up had won $200,000.

Kamran Akmal won the best wicket-keeper award, best batsman award and was also awarded the man of the tournament. Sohail Khan was named the best bowler.

The HBL PSL cricket league has put the cricket action from the country back on the map. Boasting of international players and a league like format, the tournament took place in three stages, which was played in Dubai and Sharjah. The teams representing five major cities – Peshawar, Quetta, Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore took part in the competition.

1337 comments… add one
  • zahirshah lakki marwat Jan 28, 2017, 5:54 pm

    Zilmi jeeti gi

  • yasir khan Jan 28, 2017, 5:42 pm

    Jeeta ga only on ………zalmi …..zamang khapl teem

  • habibullah Jan 28, 2017, 5:34 pm

    Inshah Allah zalmi jety ga

  • Mhusnain Sheikh Jan 28, 2017, 5:21 pm

    I think Quetta should win as sarfraz is it’s captain
    Moreover if he wins he would have more confidence leading Pakistan in both t20 and odi

  • atif khan Jan 28, 2017, 5:21 pm

    Dama dam mast qalandar

  • Jamil kalagorh Jan 28, 2017, 4:31 pm

    Psl kon jeeatay ga is ko choro sub yahi likhey ja ra hay ho batao sub se zia runs kon bana paye ga@ sharjeel khan(iu) brendon meccullum sanga kara

  • m naeem Jan 28, 2017, 4:23 pm

    Peshawer zalmi won

  • Jamil kalagorh Jan 28, 2017, 4:21 pm

    Khel damadam mast qalandar akmal,roy,meccullum

  • inder pahuja Jan 28, 2017, 2:55 pm

    dekhna ye cup PSL 2017 Quetta Gladiators jetey ga

  • Basharat Jan 28, 2017, 1:04 pm

    Zalmi jete ga inshala

  • hashmi Jan 28, 2017, 12:42 pm

    Jo b jeety Sara Pakistan jeety ga. in shaa allah

  • hashmi Jan 28, 2017, 12:41 pm

    Jo b jeety.. Sara Pakistan jeety ga. in shaa allah

  • Shahabudin. Jan 28, 2017, 9:35 am

    Boom boom afridi ki tem insha allah jeete gi

  • shakil Jan 28, 2017, 9:29 am

    dam a dum must qalandar

  • ANAS Jan 28, 2017, 8:58 am


  • Visit marwat Jan 28, 2017, 7:26 am

    Inshallah jita ga final bi our tamam match bi

  • faraz aslam Jan 28, 2017, 7:18 am

    Lahore Qalandar jitay ga my faveret team is Lahore Q

  • Bilal Jan 27, 2017, 9:22 pm

    Karachi king in shaa Allah win

  • Ahsan ullah haseen Jan 27, 2017, 4:14 pm

    i am supporter peshawar zalmii and and sha allah peshawar zalmii win this final in sha allah

  • Samiullah Jan 27, 2017, 3:42 pm

    Zalmi jite ga

    • tosif gujjar Jan 28, 2017, 9:48 am

      karachi jeety ga

  • Samiullah Jan 27, 2017, 3:41 pm

    Insha Allah zalmi jite ga

  • abrar baig Jan 27, 2017, 3:27 pm

    ishallha win lahore qalandar

  • amna khan Jan 27, 2017, 11:58 am

    Fuck PSL and PSL players go to hell I hate PSL suck my tits I hate PSL David Beckham is a nice player he will won inshaallah fuck you all PSL players very cheap players fuck off

  • Zeeshan Ashraf Jan 27, 2017, 10:14 am

    Peshawar zalmi jeety gi

  • MEHBOOBHUSSAIN Jan 27, 2017, 5:36 am


Leave a Comment