Multan Sultans is the 6th Team for PSL 2018

PSL have Multan Sultans as sixth team from 3rd Edition

Multan Sultans teamMultan Sultans is the 6th team to be included for PSL 3rd edition 2018. The third edition of the Pakistan Super League will see the addition of Multan Sultans as the sixth team in the competition.

Wasim Akram joined the Multan Sultans squad as the cricket operations director of the side and Tom Moody joins the team as their head coach.

The Schon Group won the rights to own the sixth team, which will be based in Multan, joining the Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Lahore Qalandars, Karachi Kings and Islamabad United. PSL congratulated the company after they agreed to pay $5.2 m per year to join the PSL as the new team.

Shoaib Malik has been brought in and could come in to captain the Multan Sultans. Junaid Khan was also traded in from the Peshawar Zalmi while West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard was picked for the third edition.

Among others, Kumar Sangakkara’s T20 career continues as he gets another shot to get going in this format for the Multan Sultans, while Mohammad Irfan has been named their player-ambassador.

Platinum: Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard

Diamond: Kumar Sangakkara, Sohail Tanvir

Gold: Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan

Silver: Sohaib Maqsood, Irfan Khan and Kashif Bhatti

Earlier, there were five different regions which had all been shortlisted as possible options for the fifth team, including Hyderabad, Dera Murad Jamali, FATA and Faisalabad. Multan were the final winners.

One of the reasons why a sixth team was included in the PSL is to cash in on the ever-increasing popularity of the cricket league. Last season, Pakistan cricket fans had taken to the PSL like fish towater, surpassing most expectations as far as TV ratings are concerned.

The addition of the sixth team also increases the number of games that will be played in the third edition of the Pakistan Super League. The previous two seasons of the PSL saw a sum total of 24 games played but this season, there will be 34 matches. Eight of those games during the league stage could be hosted in Pakistan while the final of the tournament will also be played in Lahore/Karachi.

In an official signing agreement, expected to take place during August in Karachi, Wasim will take the role of cricket operations director, while Waqar will be the mentor and head coach.

The PSL schedule for the 2018 edition will be released later this year. Multan owners will also announce their team name soon enough although news is out that it may be named Multan Sultans.

It will now be interesting to see how will the PSL Draft go given the inclusion of this sixth side. A new squad will obviously be named, which means other teams might have to release a few players back to their draft pool, that will be announced before the start of the PSL Draft. The sixth team will be allowed to pick around 10 players from the various categories; players who are released by the other five teams. As a result they will enter the PSL Draft on a level-playing field as the rest of the five teams.

Sethi said that the initial agreement with the rest of the franchises allowed the League to introduce a sixth team following two editions of the tournament and that the next edition of the PSL will see the inclusion of a sixth team.

Sethi hoped that the PSL governing body was looking at the possibility of hosting the 2018 final at Karachi while also making efforts aimed at hosting more matches within Pakistan.

The chairman did not hide his delight at Lahore hosting the final this year and said that the fact that the event was largely without incident served to deliver a message to the rest of the world as well.

While Sethi admitted that there was always the risk of political forces using the opportunity to further their own needs, the chairman was optimistic about hosting the PSL 2018 final in Karachi.

Currently, the PSL has five teams competing for honours – Lahore, Quetta, Karachi, Peshawar and Islamabad.

Multan Sultans Squad 2018

  • Shoaib Malik
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Sohail Tanvir
  • Mohammad Irfan
  • Junaid Khan
  • Sohaib Maqsood
  • Irfan Khan
  • Kashif Bhatti

Coach: Tom Moody
Head of Cricket Operations: Wasim Akram

1328 comments… add one
  • Imran Salara Oct 9, 2017, 3:50 pm

    inshallah multan sultan hi jeatey ga and shoaib malik best caiptan of all psl teams

  • Khalid Oct 9, 2017, 2:53 pm

    Maza tb aata agr Multan ki jaga Kashmir ki team PSL 3 ka hisa bnti

  • Sangat baba Oct 9, 2017, 11:36 am

    Inshallah lahore qalander jeetega

  • ali imran Oct 9, 2017, 9:16 am

    multan sultan mn koli ko bi huna chahiy

  • Saqib Aziz Oct 9, 2017, 8:14 am

    Karachi kings

  • Samar Jaffri Oct 9, 2017, 3:51 am

    PSL 3 opener Imran
    Nazir and Sulman Butt , Shoaib Malik ( C ) Multan Sultans

  • Ahmed Shehzad Oct 9, 2017, 3:00 am

    Jis Team Ka Captian Shoaib Malik Honga To Woh Hai Team PSL Hai Jaetengi

  • Ahmed Shehzad Oct 9, 2017, 2:57 am

    Multan Sultan Best Captain Shoaib Malik

  • rajab raja Oct 8, 2017, 5:45 pm

    Lahore qalandars win the psl 2018 insa allah

  • Samar Jaffri Oct 8, 2017, 5:33 pm

    insha Allah ab Multan sultan win Kary
    ga bast of luck Imran Nazir

  • shoaib malik Oct 8, 2017, 2:36 pm

    iam the captain of msn the best team in psl

    • Asim raza Oct 9, 2017, 4:11 am

      Love u

  • shahid khan afridi Oct 8, 2017, 2:34 pm

    i am the boom boom and i will play for kkg inshallah karachi jeetay ga

  • Fahad Oct 8, 2017, 2:09 pm

    Multan sultan is my best team

  • Irfan Ahmad from Multan Oct 8, 2017, 1:45 pm

    Main nay Psl main Imran nazir ko bhot Miss kiya…..Multan say khalay gay muge bhot khushi hai …..Hamri duain ap k sath hai Imran bhai

  • Awais haraj Oct 8, 2017, 9:04 am

    Innshallah win kirachi kings

  • Wali Mohammad Oct 8, 2017, 4:04 am

    insha Allah ab Multan sultan win Kary ga

    • Anonymous Oct 8, 2017, 5:32 pm

      insha Allah ab Multan sultan win Kary
      ga bast of luck Imran Nazir

  • ajmal Oct 8, 2017, 3:50 am

    multan sultan will win next psl

  • Muhammad din bugti Oct 7, 2017, 8:53 pm

    Imran Nazir,

  • shoaib malik Oct 7, 2017, 3:16 pm

    assa shit team hei fuc off penjod harami

    • Saqib Aziz Oct 9, 2017, 8:12 am

      Karachi Kings is Bast

  • Rashid khan Oct 7, 2017, 2:04 pm

    captan shoaib malik e hoga

  • awaismehar Oct 7, 2017, 12:32 pm

    multan sultan is best team

  • saud Oct 7, 2017, 10:59 am

    sultan multan but i like peshawer zalmi In Shah Allah 3rd psl final winner team pesh zalmi

    • ajmal Oct 8, 2017, 3:48 am

      sultan is best team

  • Shahzaib Baig Oct 7, 2017, 8:28 am

    Ab PSL 3 Multan sultan ka ha

  • nawaz khan saudi Oct 6, 2017, 9:41 pm

    shoib malik the capatin of Multan sultan

  • Atiq Oct 6, 2017, 6:50 pm

    Gd captan multan malak

Leave a Comment